Eating in Vaishali

If any of you is Puneiet,then you know for sure what I’m talking about. And for those who don’t know the context,let me explain, every city has some popular eat out places,and Vaishali is THE place in Pune which you MUST visit if you are on visit to this city. Located on famous Ferguson College Road,this place is popular in every age group , may it be college kids or retired folks..There is a saying in Pune, if you haven’t eaten in Vaishali,Roopali you did nothing in Pune 😉 BTW, Vaishali,Roopali and Aamrapali are owned by a single person but Vaishali is the most popular amongst all.

No matter what time of day you visit this place,it’s difficult to get table easily,be prepared to wait at least 30 minutes minimum to get your table. Today after watching TINTIN, Goldy and I decided to eat at Vaishali,to my surprise at 2 pm in the afternoon the crowd was too much,as if whole Pune decided to eat there,after exactly 30-35 mins of waiting we got table..and the South Indian specialities were waiting for us on menu card…we decided to utilize every minute we spent in waiting for table by ordering at least 3-4 items..and there we were at our hungriest high 😀

V has always stayed in hostel so he is generally not very keen for Idli,Dosa,appam etc. on the other hand I’m die-hard fan of all above items,so seldom V and I together go to Vaishali or for any other South Indian restaurants for that matter.But today I had great company in Goldy:-) and I did chance pe dance 😉 I do not have any college time memories associated with this places,since I didn’t studied in Pune,but whenever I eat here I feel as if I’m eating here since ages 🙂

29 thoughts on “Eating in Vaishali

  1. I live in Ghaziabad and there is a place named Vaishali in Ghaziabad too. And my name is Puneet (not Pune-iet). Lol. The starting of this post was so awkward for me. 😀

  2. Hey I know what you are talking about. I have many relatives in Pune and in fact my grandmum was brought up in Pune. I have passed by Vaishali many a times and seen the crowd there but never went to have a bite. Now, the next time I am in Pune, will make sure to eat there.

    Nice blog!

  3. Before your post in Vaishali you you people have to wait for 30 Minutes !!
    I’m sure after your this post that time will be increased. :p

    I used to visit Pune for one project area name. .. .. . Let me think… yeah Kothrud. i will try to visit Vaishali in my next visit to Pune. 🙂

    • Hahhaa..yes you must visit this place on your next visit, in fact many of our clients from US,UK who visit our office n Pune make sure to land up at Vaishali for some authentic Indian food 😀

  4. yes, FC road has many good joints and Vaishali is the most famous one… We used to visit there often from our college…there is also one tiffin place near by, I forgot the name…that was our most common visiting spot (student allowance) 🙂

    I’m now nostalgic…

  5. You have decided to drown me in nostalgia throughout your holiday week. Sigh…
    I liked going to Vaishali once in a while and like you said, had to wait for 45 minutes+ always. But it wasn’t a regular since I am not too keen on South Indian food.

Leave a Reply

